HindiSong.com

 

Bas Itna Sa Khwaab Hai

Advertisement

Cast: Abhishek Bachchan, Rani Mukherjee, Jackie Shroff
Director: Goldie Behl
Music: Aadesh Shrivastava

This one is for those patient souls waiting for the Big B genes to manifest in B junior. Well, the wait is over… almost!

Goldie Behl's directorial debut, Bas Itna Sa Khwab Hai, provides an excellent opportunity to this understated but overburdened (with expectations, of course) actor to demonstrate his prowess. Abhishek plays ambitious Suraj Shrivastava from Benares who arrives in big, bad Bombay for his higher education in pursuit of his dream. All he wants is…everything. His role model is India's media king, Naved Ali. By the way, Suraj's role models also include Bhagat Singh, Maharana Pratap and Dhirubhai Ambani (!!!), in that order.

Suraj meets Pooja (Rani Mukherjee) in college and falls in love with her. A visit by Naved Ali to his alma mater proves to be the turning point for Suraj. Naved takes Suraj under his wings and starts grooming him. Lara Oberoi (stunning-as ever Sushmita Sen) qualifies as Naved's assistant – since Sushmita’s role is not clearly defined, audience just have to accept her as an assistant. Lara introduces Suraj to Naved's world of glitz and glamour. In his desperate bid for success, Suraj leaves behind all that is near and dear to him. He is rudely awakened from his daze only when he discovers that he is being used by Naved for ulterior motives. A shaken Suraj returns to his senses (his mom and his love) and exposes Naved's true intentions.

The film runs full steam till intermission and then chugs along ever so slowly. The sole aim of the second half seems to be to stuff as many things as possible into it. Abhishek Bachchan sparkles at regular intervals, frequently reviving the Big B magic. But Abhishek better work on his body language in order to improve his screen presence. Jackie Shroff is strictly okay maybe because the macho charm is missing in the new-improved character-role playing Jackie.

 

The characters of Pooja and Lara are ill defined. Sushmita looks absolutely ravishing in the dance sequences but does not have a role to write home about. Rani does justice to the bits that come to her. Of the rest of the cast, Gulshan Grover excels as Sweety Singh.

Bas Itna… has some good moments. The musical score by Aadesh Shrivastava is quite good. But you won't miss much if you came out for a smoke during Abhishek's dances. Papa Bachchan needs to tell Abhishek how to carry the enviable height and not hunch while the other actor is saying dialogues or stand there looking awkward as his heroine dances! The screenplay too seems half-baked. Most urban youth might relate to the theme that is an oddball mixture of media and politics. The general populace will have a dreamless sleep through the film… much like the gentleman next to me.

 

© HindiSong.com 2001

 

 

Share: Diggdel.icio.usGoogleYahooStumbleUponMixxFacebookRedditMyspace
Songs

Actors
Abhishek Bachchan
Rani Mukherjee
Jackie Shroff
Sushmita Sen

Director
Goldie Behl

Music Director
Uttam Singh

Release Year
2001



New Reviews
Gulaal
Dhoondte Reh Jaaoge
13 B
Karma Aur Holi
Delhi 6
Billu
Luck By Chance
Dev D
Mere Khwabon Mein Jo Aaye
Karzzzz

Latest Previews
Billu
Kidnap
Mission Istanbul
Singh Is King
Rock On
Jaane Tu... Ya Jaane Na
Kismat Konnection
Sarkar Raj
Haal-e-Dil
Raat Gayi Baat Gayi

Latest Music Review
1920
Karzzzz
ADA
Love story 2050
Thoda Pyar Thoda Magic
Viewer(s) Comments
i like hindi song because i am an pure indian
ashish 11/28/2011 2:19:26 AM
i hmkl
10/13/2009 5:21:55 AM
ISHAQ 8/23/2009 10:34:33 AM
allways happy
mast ram 9/10/2008 7:46:23 AM
12
shankar 3/31/2008 12:37:02 AM
god sixe
zama 1/30/2008 11:05:47 AM
kajol
abul kalam azad 11/3/2007 4:28:55 AM
Very good film!! i loved it!!rani aur abhi you make such a good couple you guys look great together like amit aur jaya! Overall great film!!
namrata 10/12/2007 6:53:42 PM
this movie is actually his dream come true.
shakti raina 7/17/2007 7:49:04 AM
nmkl
rahul 3/25/2007 2:03:19 AM
halow
bassir 12/11/2006 8:25:54 AM
sorry i fogot what movie this is,when i remeber i will post a coment
12/9/2006 9:10:59 PM
sorry i fogot what movie is,when i remeber i will post a coment
12/9/2006 9:09:09 PM
hi hindi acteur
saumya 10/4/2006 2:53:37 PM
ilove you hrithik rochan
saumya 10/4/2006 2:52:47 PM
i just want to say that it is great to infrom u that i want to chat with u rellayi like u to much i wann chat with u once if u gat a time for me just send me meassge have a nice time Amisha Patel ur lovely fen masood ahmed
andrew fintoff 8/14/2006 7:54:33 AM
Hey Abhishek I´m a very big fan of you. You are just funny and cool, you are a very goood act, I love your acting. And Rani, you are so sweet and beautiful, I love your acting......you are also very funny...i love your smile!!!I´m the biggest fan of you....I´m writting from Denmark I love both of you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
khatema 5/29/2006 4:25:35 AM
sdddfvfhddcbhdbjhfifjkdnjdfdjhovjbsdfpjfkbfhgifhfjfhufsffhghsjvkfnbmfvnjfdnbonjbsbjcxbjfcvjxvbvffhiushjfhbjfhfkfkfdooxuhdfjdbdshvuidhfshnfigguohsduodhorgdfgsdifsfksfakdfhadfafadhj udasnjksfas hsaghakjyel;ayuieyr
imran 4/26/2006 6:17:18 AM
aueog vkahtgk vagtjaucfbxffzydagssagckjghjgkfsdoafoajuayhtdvcthgtd.
imran 4/26/2006 6:16:14 AM
thanks
b.k 4/26/2006 1:17:06 AM
abhishikji its nice that you are improving with each film
sucheta 1/9/2006 10:47:50 AM
sfglufigdf$ig
redoine 10/3/2005 12:01:31 PM
Plase sed new sogs to me
Latha 8/17/2005 6:46:12 AM
i lick all indian song one of the word i no one
SHRI RAM 6/3/2005 5:05:36 PM
i love rani
rakesh 11/14/2004 11:29:35 AM
thats the truth
Henna 8/13/2004 7:28:51 AM
I love rani so much. she is the best actress and she is such a lovely caring beautiful person. there is no one as wonderful as her. the songs in the film were great and so was the movie. Abishek also did a great job. he is also a good actor but no one can beat rani
Henna 8/13/2004 7:27:43 AM
Hi I love you india movies very-very much
liar_girl 8/5/2004 5:21:07 PM
i love rani
ali 7/25/2004 7:16:23 AM
I LOVE YOU ABHISHEK
NOOR KAMIL 7/25/2004 4:44:47 AM
they make a hOT couPle, watCH oUT 4 YUVA
sindy 1/26/2004 7:38:34 PM
i love abhi very very much
gracious 1/26/2004 1:57:58 AM
Not bed,but Hritik is the bast!!!
Marina 11/14/2003 10:41:33 AM
i jus loveeeeeeee abhishek and hiz acting i dont really give tha shit if hiz movies r hit or wutever and roshan if u think ur lil bro can do betta than him well i havnt seen him in movies lets see him do some "acting" buy tha way tha movies waz ok
soondus 11/9/2003 2:36:16 AM
i love movie because i love abishek bachan. he is cool,sweet
smita 9/20/2003 2:17:12 PM
very bad
javed 8/29/2003 3:48:08 PM
Hey abhichaek how are you.i want a you the best acter. i like your all movies. i also like you. i have a question. my question that you not going to sadi with kareshama kapoor whyand why not.
darshana patel 5/19/2003 11:14:53 AM
i love u abishek and ur the best. doesnt matter for us if ur films are not hit becuase we still love u and we will always pray for ur success inshallah!!
mehwish 5/16/2003 11:50:16 AM
i like also sharuk khan @aamir. he is the best actor. i like his movie also. thanks ®ards gopal
gopal 4/14/2003 8:54:09 AM
because i rub it and than you do it....
Harpinder Sing 4/6/2003 12:20:04 AM
why i cumming?
Popa 4/6/2003 12:18:28 AM
I love Rani Mukherjee. She's the best actress ever. I have all her movies on DVD. Abhishek Bachan really needs to Quit acting. Just because his father's an actor don't mean he should become one. He sucks big time.
Rani ka Fan 4/6/2003 12:13:21 AM
hello popa are cumming to pick me up from the airport? you bastard guy.
harpinder singh 4/6/2003 12:06:36 AM
the film was shit plz avoid it
kumar 2/15/2003 7:29:53 PM
good
nomi 11/28/2002 7:45:53 PM
I like Amitabh Bachhan. He is the best I love the movie. you most see it
Tareg 11/9/2002 9:31:37 AM
i love rani but not morthen her eyes
purvesh 10/16/2002 8:14:25 AM
its fne
ifi_4_u 10/15/2002 2:08:16 AM
It was ok , nice movie...
Haseeb 9/7/2002 5:20:46 PM
it was shit
Ayesha 8/3/2002 2:09:32 PM
bhangar movie yaar.
vishal 5/6/2002 3:34:50 PM
It was really FANTASTIC........ Rani rules!!!
Kajol 4/24/2002 7:41:51 PM
abhishek you are the best
neha 1/26/2002 6:41:02 AM
salam
mohamad 1/21/2002 5:42:52 AM
Good movie. Abhishek is following the steps of his father.
Rajesh 12/28/2001 9:00:10 AM
movie is ok but the songs are best and abhi and rani was also good rani is the best
IMRAN KHAN 12/19/2001 1:48:42 AM
not good not bad
Deepak Shah 12/8/2001 1:37:49 PM
i think it was great and abishek the all time favourite actor but he need a hit like sharukh n his dad big b got. he is (lambi race ka ghora)and will rule the industry like his dad.i love u abhi
farhan 11/20/2001 1:15:17 AM
very nice movie
SALMAN zaidi 10/27/2001 4:14:45 PM
i love this movies and i like sooooooooooooooooooooooo much . i like also abhishek sooooooooooo much greeeeeeet movie
pinkrose 10/16/2001 11:37:34 PM
it was just simply bull shit! i just watched it for sushmita! that tall buddy was just boring!
khan 10/16/2001 3:29:05 PM
THIS MOVIE MADE ME SLEEP IT WAS BORING! I KNOW INDIAN PRODUCER/DIRECTOR CAN DO A BETTER JOB THAN THIS!!
Rao KASHMIRA 10/6/2001 6:24:02 PM
very good
kinu 9/25/2001 12:23:39 PM
Abhishek shud choose a different career.
Deeps 9/15/2001 6:48:18 AM
Bull shit.horrible & ghatia movie. flop movie of the year................ get a life you too. (rani) & (Abhishek)....................
Sonaly 9/11/2001 12:55:56 AM
T0 That is good movie .I like it is very injoy full and relly ,i think the movie was great thats all i have to say . Thaks
Gajanand 9/6/2001 2:43:27 AM
I think the story of Movie is great. Starts off in a boring way but soon movie catches your attention. I think Jackie did a damn good job, and so did Sushmita. Rani was good too, but can't say much about Abhishek. Watch movie atleast once, for JACKIE, SUSHMITA & RANI's sake. They really did good job.
Ravi Patel 9/1/2001 1:52:23 PM
love is a just like a icecrem taste it befor it melts
zafrullah 8/26/2001 7:45:07 AM
it was firs class because abhishek bachchan is in it he remine me of his dad.
sherry 8/23/2001 3:39:12 PM
I saw this movie, i realy enjoy it. rani and abi is two of my favourite stars. they did a amazing job together.
anupa 8/23/2001 10:58:07 AM
abhishek is the best actor . i like abhishek ....is just like amitabhbachchan.....
rakesh nandan prasad 8/22/2001 1:43:34 PM
Acually I am a really big fan of Rani. I had seen her all movies and Now I am waiting for the movie BAS ITNA SA KHWAAB HAI. I am very excited to see that movie and I also can't wait that long to watch that movie. So I would just like to wish all the best to rani. That's all
kyla 8/15/2001 11:53:19 PM
TO BISKH ITS TOO GOOD . THE SONGS WERE LIKED BY ME. KOLIKA ]
KOLIKA 8/15/2001 6:26:15 AM
hi!i would like to say that my small brother can act better than abishek.wat the hell man be like hritk roshan lah u cow.
roshan from johor 8/15/2001 12:24:10 AM
hi!i would like to say that my small brother can act better than abishek.wat the hell man be like hritk roshan lah u cow.
roshan singh 8/15/2001 12:20:49 AM
Abishik Bachan is just BIG PIECE OF SHIT
pooja 8/14/2001 3:41:27 PM
Abishik is just
pooja 8/14/2001 3:32:02 PM
Its all nonsence.
yeshey choden 8/14/2001 5:28:12 AM
It's all nonsense
kitni 8/14/2001 12:15:49 AM
kool
priya 8/13/2001 10:06:02 PM
wow
rajussvs 8/12/2001 4:10:24 AM
great movie and story of dream and frim determintaion great shot thats alllll abhikeshk is best
anil 8/11/2001 12:43:49 AM
I DID'T EVEN SAW THAT MOVIE. BUT I LIKE RANI.
CHETNA PATEL 8/10/2001 9:47:11 PM
by the sound of the review there ain't no way i'm gonnu watch it any way jr B suckz big time not like his father XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX R.I.P 2 all
neil 8/10/2001 7:12:52 AM
very good film susmita had done great job it's fantastic movie!! good job Mr. Goldie behl
sonia 8/10/2001 5:24:39 AM
watch it if you want to get sick. How can directors fool audiences like that, hayn?
Nilesh 8/9/2001 12:04:34 PM
i havent seen this movie but i dont like anyone talking bad about abhishek..thats it...He is a great artist. he is a natural artist with no overactings like others..
mansoor23 8/9/2001 3:07:03 AM
Amitabh Bachachan added laurels to his father´s name and has become an icon in indian silver screen, I doubt Abhishek will be able to do the same. He is very far from.......
sss 8/9/2001 2:47:51 AM
welcom
ahmed 8/8/2001 8:20:21 PM
hi
ahmed 8/8/2001 8:19:10 PM
not very bad
kinu 8/7/2001 3:02:59 AM
what a sick movie, what do you think its a rip off of the worlds not enough?
arvind 8/2/2001 10:49:34 PM
i really like this movie because i like the acting of abhishek bachchan and his father also.i hope that abhishek will do better in future.thats all!
abhishekkapoor 8/1/2001 1:36:42 PM
kichi bhuji hela ni.
richa 8/1/2001 10:55:57 AM
bad film
lokesh 8/1/2001 8:09:09 AM
greeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaat!!!
aashiq 7/30/2001 5:36:32 PM
watch it now!!
mohini 7/29/2001 11:21:45 AM
great movie should be a SUPER HIT!
mohini 7/29/2001 11:20:07 AM
GOOD GREAT
FAHADKHAN 7/28/2001 1:50:26 PM
I really loved this movie
Bhumika Babaria 7/26/2001 11:37:49 AM
I did not like the movie.it was so so. like R.B.G.G.M. Abhishek should try more.more & more do beteer in future. His not like his father.I think he does'nt know anything about act .
Helen 7/25/2001 8:36:33 PM
hve to be a good movie listened to songs they are good & there is rani and abishek so supposed to be good
manish 7/24/2001 3:14:11 PM
hi VERY GOOD MOVIE
fahad 7/24/2001 9:57:23 AM
hi hello hindi filam com bthi mi vodo for free
a s 7/22/2001 4:01:26 AM
well no comment....cause i havent see yet..
joan 7/20/2001 10:19:16 PM
i think the movie was great thats all i have to say
rano 7/19/2001 5:05:35 PM
I like Amitabh Bachhan and i saw all the movies of Amitabh Bachan (Saat Hindustani---Ek Rishta) Aks is still pending (my desire was that Amitabh should do a role of big Don-like Shakal of Shaan). I bend my head in front of the luck of Amitabh Bachan, I hope Abhishek Bachan will also be rise like Big B.
Vipan 7/19/2001 9:35:39 AM
i have not seen this movie still , but i will see definately, bcoz i am big fan of Amitabh Bachan, i have seen all the movies of Big B. and i always prays to god for Big B's and his family for their success and happiness. I love Amitabh Bachan very much.So the Abishek bachan also will be my favorite
raja 7/19/2001 9:29:54 AM
i have not wantch till but in any case i have to c this movie.it not yet realesd in new zealand.i'm in new new zealnd.and i'm a great fan/ac of abhi bachan.
naveen 7/19/2001 3:09:28 AM
It was one of my favorite movies..
Bhumika 7/17/2001 11:08:27 PM
I love this movie a lot . You better see it.
monica 7/17/2001 8:37:08 PM
BAS ITNA SA KHWAAB HAI
Rating
All time GREATFirst-ClassDecentNot badHorrible
Your Comments
Your Name:  
Your Email:  
Your Comment: