HindiSong.com

Vaastav


Vaastav means 'Reality' and the film lives upto its title. One would say that Vaastav is a blend of two films - Ramgopal Varma's 'Satya' & Shashilal Nair's 'Angaar'. But Vaastav has a class of its own. If Manoj Bajpai was the shining star in 'Satya' and Jackie Shroff in 'Angaar', this one should do wonders for Sanjay Dutt.

The film portrays the reality as mentioned earlier, lives of people living in Chawls (Housing accommodations for the lower middle class people in Bombay), politicians patronising anti social elements for their benefits and unemployment giving birth to Mafia & vandalism. All these are presented exquisitely, esp. the Chawl system of Bombay shown with lot of finesse.

Namrata & Sanjay Raghu (Sanjay Dutt) is the younger son of a lower middle class family living in a chawl in Bombay. His elder brother Vijay (Mohnish Behl) though a graduate finds getting a job is next to impossible. Raghu is the king of the unemployed in the neighborhood. He and his gang can't get enough of playing pranks all around. Raghu's father is fed up of his son, who has not been able to clear metric after umpteen attempts. Raghu starts a small business with help from his father. Unfortunately Raghu and his friend get entangled in a fight with the youngest brother of Fracture Pandya (underworld gang leader). The squabble ends with Raghu and his friend killing their opponents.

Terrified both Raghu and his friend had no other option but to go to Fracture Pandya's rival Vithal Kanya (Ashish Vidyarthi). Vithal Kanya gives both of them shelter. But for how long? Suleman (Paresh Rawal) - a mediator between different underworld gangs, approaches Vithal Kanya to negotiate his refugee's lives for twenty lakhs. Vithal agrees, but Fracture Pandyas had other intentions. Raghu to save his live kills the eldest of Pandya brothers so starts the saga of transition of Raghu to Raghu Bhai.

Sanjay & Namrata Baban Rao Kadam (Mohan Joshi) the Home minister for the State of Maharashtra gives Raghu all the political protection he needs. Now nobody could touch Raghu, so Raghu Bhai becomes the uncrowned king of the underworld. He now has everything money could buy but could not buy love and blessings of his parents. Sonu (Namrata Shirodkar), a prostitute whom Raghu visits comes as a ray of light in Raghu's life, which is full of darkness.

Raghu tired of all these killings and hooliganism wants to get out of this mess for his wife Sonu and their son. But is he able to? The end is what audience may not accept but they should - 'this is the reality'. The end is not where the hero wins as always.

Namrata & Sanjay The film is very well directed by the debutant Mahesh Manjrekar. Being his first film, he is excellent. Production values are not very high; anyway the film does not require pomp & showbiz, as it's so close to the ultimate truth. The film belongs to Sanjay Dutt all the way. Sanjay justifies the faith of his director and carries the film on his shoulders, ably supported by others. The only drawback of the film can be the songs, which are not so catchy. To sum it up Mahesh Manjrekar has a winner on his hand and Sanjay Dutt will get lots of accolades for this film.

- Abhishek Sharma.
g
Share: Diggdel.icio.usGoogleYahooStumbleUponMixxFacebookRedditMyspace
Songs

Actors
Sanjay Dutt
Namrata Shirodkar
Deepak Tijori
Reema Lagoo
Mohnish Behl

Director
Mahesh Manjrekar

Music Director
Jatin - Lalit

Release Year
1999



New Reviews
Gulaal
Dhoondte Reh Jaaoge
13 B
Karma Aur Holi
Delhi 6
Billu
Luck By Chance
Dev D
Mere Khwabon Mein Jo Aaye
Karzzzz

Latest Previews
Billu
Kidnap
Mission Istanbul
Singh Is King
Rock On
Jaane Tu... Ya Jaane Na
Kismat Konnection
Sarkar Raj
Haal-e-Dil
Raat Gayi Baat Gayi

Latest Music Review
1920
Karzzzz
ADA
Love story 2050
Thoda Pyar Thoda Magic
Viewer(s) Comments
sanju baba tu karch khup chan ahes mala tu khup avadatos i love u....... From::vijay
10/21/2012 5:27:54 PM
sanju baba tu karch khup chan ahes mala tu khup avadatos i love u.......
10/21/2012 5:25:31 PM
Hi i am a boy i go to school but i can still wach your films. You are the best. I like your film munbhiy mbbs and lagrah munbhiy.
Sunil 10/19/2007 4:32:09 PM
nice
richi 9/16/2007 3:20:08 AM
J KAR PUTHE KAM NA KARE TA TERE WARGA JAWAN MERE DES NU NEHI MILNA
VICKY 8/27/2007 9:11:17 AM
NOTHING
VICKY 8/27/2007 9:08:51 AM
uuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh sanju love uuuu
sanam 8/25/2007 6:09:07 AM
love uuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu
sanam 8/25/2007 6:08:18 AM
agar aap ki jamant nahi hui to main karwa sakta ho plz contrect me urgent
sushil 8/12/2007 1:28:27 PM
vaastav is best film i like dialouge delievery i like his style, dressing sense, tilak
jalpan vyas 7/23/2007 9:15:41 AM
love u sunjay u r my best actor
faisal nadir khan 6/28/2007 3:44:38 AM
u are my best actore
faisal 6/28/2007 3:32:28 AM
Hi I am your best fans.
ahsan 6/9/2007 4:04:15 AM
LOVE IS LIFE 923218614889
asad 4/20/2007 9:39:17 AM
i waint ur all pic so plz send me ur pic
atifbutt 4/20/2007 9:37:50 AM
love is life
atifbutt 4/20/2007 9:34:32 AM
atyfyu
atifbutt 4/20/2007 9:33:57 AM
Sanjay Dutt i love u very much , i m big fan of u
Mohsin 11/24/2006 6:31:38 AM
my comment is sanja dut a vary punchuli acctor.
shekher 9/8/2006 8:22:20 AM
good
matloob 7/7/2006 8:37:38 AM
I Lick Sanja Dutt
SM. Joy 5/12/2006 9:19:55 AM
hi sanjay ,I have a request , im watching now about let we say 10 years to your films , im living in holland and i study al so acting . so my quest to you is can you give me a few options, to make the best out of it? shukriya radjesh
radjesh 2/20/2006 10:29:22 PM
bsa
ghsg 10/24/2004 7:22:44 AM
i miss you and god bless you and your father. My phone number 604-7875031 I miss you all the time. My dreamboy i miss you always Congratulation to ur father. Godd bless you all famly i miss you
fakhra shaheen rani 6/16/2004 10:03:30 PM
sanjay dutt is the dangreous hero of the india i like the acting of sanjay i like ur vaastu and ur sentence (sala)(muna bayee)(ko kia bola)plz send me ur dangreous pic i like ur dangreous act and when u act as serious i m from Afghanistan i like u very much u r my ideal actor plz send me ur pic
Hashimi 5/10/2004 2:50:21 AM
Hi sanja dutt hi i am form pakistan hi i love
Faheem Ahmed 12/31/2003 3:39:08 AM
I LIke sunjay on kul naike
shahzad 10/10/2003 10:07:22 PM
itwas good movie i like it
ahmed 9/22/2003 12:45:33 PM
i like very much sunjay baba and the rool of the vaastav ragunaathshivalkar ilike the sunjay baba i am pakistani please send the sunjay baba picture of the vaastav i love you sunjay baba i i like you sunjay baba
yasirkhan 8/22/2003 8:03:34 AM
i love u sanjay?
jamai mohamed 6/23/2003 9:07:43 AM
I am one of Sanjay's best fan in Pakistan this is the film who proved that he is the one of the best actor in india. And this movie shows that he is good actor, and he is capable to act more films. Best Wishes, Khurram.
Khurram Shahzad 4/6/2003 11:15:27 AM
I LIKE TO MUCH VAASTAV.SAJAY IS GOOD HERO.MY BEST HERO.
MAJID 1/20/2003 7:06:24 AM
i love sunju baba couse he is the man in the whole industry.i love his movie vaastav more than 20 times and i still want to watch it because i love him so much couse he is the only classic actor in hindi cinema
Muiz Ilyas Khan 1/1/2003 11:52:22 AM
hi im rajat i have seen this movie more than15 times. and i can see it again . i love sanjay cause he is (baba)
rajat 11/20/2002 4:11:26 AM
please send me your private picture iloveyou allllllllllllllot
naveed 10/17/2002 3:58:03 AM
very nice and greet fiml i like sunjay and all his film in world best actor is sunjay
suuny 9/20/2002 8:18:25 AM
very nice movie
23112 3/31/2002 8:17:53 AM
nice movie
waqas khalid 3/6/2002 4:56:20 PM
there is nooo doubt!the best ever film ever and why?coz of sanjay!he is the best...vaastav...the best.
gambit 2/17/2002 7:11:32 AM
Sanjay dutt is loke like a Hero
jamal ather 5/15/2001 6:05:43 AM
verrrry good movie
sumit 1/30/2001 7:11:35 AM
I loev saniay dutt for vaastav Im salim
suheil80 10/21/2000 1:08:06 PM
all the best movie
asad 10/14/2000 5:19:38 AM
This is a very good movie. Sanjay Dutt acted very good in this movie......Excellent movie....
Raja 10/1/2000 9:45:06 PM
vasstv film is very best film this is number one movies
Ravi 9/28/2000 5:44:31 AM
Sanjay acts well and Namrita looks good
Aanss 9/24/2000 10:24:45 AM
It's very good acting from sanjay dutt film is realistic and I liked it very much the story was good and sanjay dutt proved to the world that he can act in any roll...although we all like sanjay when he is as bad in films as he wants to be like in khalnayak + jung...now that's an actor .
rish 9/11/2000 12:37:11 PM
sunjay is the best acter right behind amitabh they need to give him more roles like this and more romantic ones too his is one of the best of all time his looks tight in that long pujaby clothing. Late
aby 5/15/2000 2:55:02 PM
thats a tyte movie duh who told u thats not good it is a damn good movie and sanja dut dammn he look so scary but look so good
rina 5/6/2000 6:12:01 PM
exelleant movie sanju at his best the best film for a long time
zafar 3/28/2000 6:07:30 AM
VAASTAV
Rating
All time GREATFirst-ClassDecentNot badHorrible
Your Comments
Your Name:  
Your Email:  
Your Comment: